Research Guides: Percussion: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Terms Related to Percussion

The following music dictionaries and encyclopedias provide entries on percussion history, performance, and repertoire, as well as biographical entries about percussionists and composers of percussion music. Entries may include images, musical examples, and bibliographies of scholarly sources for further reading.

Encyclopedia of Percussion by John H. Beck
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML102.P4 E5 2007
Publication Date: 2007
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd ed. by Laurence Libin (Editor-In-Chief); Anne Beetem Acker; Carolyn Bryant; J. Richard Haefer; James B. Kopp; Jeremy Montagu
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML102.I5 N48 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Newly revised and expanded into 5 volumes, features in-depth scholarly entries on musical instruments from all over the world, with images. Some of the new content is not yet available in Oxford Music Online.
A Practical Guide to Percussion Terminology by Russ Girsberger (Composed by); Anthony J. Cirone (Other Primary Creator)
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML102.P4 G57 1998
Publication Date: 2000
The Percussionist's Dictionary by Joseph Adato; George Judy
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML102.P4A3 1984
Publication Date: 1984
Musical Instruments of the World : an illustrated encyclopedia by Diagram Group Staff
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML102.I5 M88 1997
ISBN: 0806998474
Publication Date: 1997
Handbook of percussion instruments : their characteristics and playing techniques, with illustrations and musical examples from the literature by Karl Peinkofer Fritz Tannigel
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML1030 .P4413
Publication Date: 1976
Dictionary of percussion terms : as found in the symphonic repertoire by Morris Lang Larry Spivack
Call Number: ML1030 .L36 2000
Publication Date: 2000

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

I will be on sabbatical from May 16-September 16, 2024. During that time, please contact musicref@uoregon.edu with music or dance research questions, or drop in at the Douglass Room for research help at the music desk Monday-Friday 10 am-6 pm. If you need assistance related to room reservations or facilities in the Douglass Room, please contact Jimmy Murray at jmurray2@uoregon.edu.

I will be available for appointments again starting in Fall Term 2024.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music